KS Banner
Volume 1, Issue 6
    April  2015
Man of the Year Sponsors
Our deepest appreciation to the sponsors of this very special event to honor Dan Burck '51: 

Marquee Sponsor

Platinum Sponsor:  $5,000

Clifton Morris

Gold Sponsors: $2,500

Dolph Briscoe Center
for American History
The University of Texas at Austin

James L. Powell

Gail & Bobby Stillwell

Jan Burrow, Pure Partners 
Real Estate + Investments

Silver Sponsors: $1,000

Libby & George Alcorn

Cissie & Dillon Ferguson

Carol & Robert Fondren

Beth & Tom Granger

The Charles Morrison Family


C.A. Rundell

Sally & Joe Russo

John Schweitzer 

Jenny & Mike Sharpe

Southwest Corporation

Rhonda & Reggie Tuck

Bronze Sponsors:  $500

Allison & Joe Bailey

Shelley & Lew Brazelton

Michelle Brock

Dynamic Health Strategies

Carol & Tom Hatfield

Cc & David Hetherington

Martha Hilley

Melinda & Wade Kilpatrick

Jennie & Tom Link 

Cathy & Rob Lippincott

Joan & Doug McLeod

Susan & Hagen McMahon

Susie & Pat Molak

Betty Sue & Jon Newton

Becky & David Roche

Gayle & Mike Roche

Mary & Charles Teeple

Jeanie & Bill Zwiener  

KΣ Man of the Year 2015
Hagen McMahon '66 shared quotes from Kappa Sigs and other Dan Burck supporters from across the state who endorsed Brother Burck's nomination for Kappa Sigma's highest honor.

Nash Horne '10 spoke of what Dan Burck has meant to him as a mentor and a friend, especially during his term as UT System Student Regent.

Joe Russo '52 spoke of his lifelong friendship with Dan Burck, stating that even with all of Burck's accomplishments and honors, "The Danny Burck I knew in 1952 is the same Danny Burck who is being honored this evening."

 Mick Pritchett and T.K.S.E.F. Chairman Jim Pritchett '71.

T.K.S.E.F. President Mike Sharpe '79, Jenny Sharpe, Dianne Kilday, and Dick Kilday '54.

Jamie Bayless and American Campus Communities CEO Bill Bayless.  American Campus Communities was the Marquee Sponsor for the Man of the Year event.  

Keene Ferguson '54, Jimmie Powell '52, and Howard Rose '50.

Registration Team: Charlotte Grant, Megan McCabe, and Morgan Sharpe.

Stay Current with Your Chapter
update profile
One Simple Form for KS Alumni, Parents & Actives

Need to update your contact information or sign up for Tau eNEWS and event notices? Simply click on the green Update Profile button and enter your contact information in the required fields. The Update Profile page is one simple form that can be used by Alumni/Trustees, Parents and Actives.  

When you access the page -- either through the button below or through the website -- you will be able to select the types of emails you would like to receive, with the option to choose any or all.  

This data collection system is secure and meets all current privacy laws and regulations.

Please update your information as needed, as you are a valued member of the Tau community and we want to make sure you get your news in a timely manner. We also encourage you to forward this eNEWS edition to fellow Kappa Sigs who haven't yet signed up to receive Tau eNEWs.  

Please send any questions or comments you may have to


Your Tau eNEWS
Publications Team

update profile
Pay Your Dues Online 
Now you can pay your Tau Trustee dues  online!   
Tau Alumni Dues $100:
Dues Button     Tau Trustee Dues $500:*
Trustees Pay Dues

Tau Trustees dues cover Tau Alumni
dues, House Corp. stipend, summer rush contribution, KS Fraternity dues and contributions to KS Military Heroes 


If you would like to pay your dues by check, please mail to:  

Texas Kappa Sigma Educational Foundation / Tau Trustees Educational Foundation
P.O. Box 470061
Fort Worth, TX  76147
Attn: Field Lange  
Dear Tau Brothers, Family & Friends,

On March 28, we had the privilege to honor Dan Burck '51 as the 2015 International Kappa Sigma Man of the Year, the highest honor awarded by the Kappa Sigma Fraternity.  Thank you, everyone, who helped make this extraordinary event the success it was, with 325 Kappa Sigma brothers and supporters on hand to celebrate this great man and historic occassion at the beautiful Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum.  

Burck is the sixth initiate from UT's Tau Chapter of the Kappa Sigma Fraternity to receive the International Man of the Year award.  Past recipients include artist, writer and filmmaker Bill Wittliff, financier Richard Rainwater, renowned heart surgeon Denton Cooley, MD, former Texas Governor (1947-49) Beauford H. Jester, and former American Airlines president Cyrus Smith, a second cousin to Burck.  

This is a pivotal moment in Tau Chapter history, as we celebrate our Tau legends like Brother Burck and look to the future with a new chapter house - one that will be among the finest in the country - soon to be under construction. 

Stay in touch for more exciting news ahead.  Let's keep our momentum going.  


Jim Pritchett '71
Board Chairman
Texas Kappa Sigma Educational Foundation


International Kappa Sigma Man of the Year Award Presentation: (Left to right): Worthy Grand Procurator Derek Marchman, Worthy Grand Master Hugh Robert, Man of the Year Committee Chairman Hagen McMahon '66, TKSEF Board Chairman Jim Pritchett '71, 2015 Man of the Year Honoree Dan Burck '51, Worthy Grand Master of Ceremonies Toby Taylor, and Executive Director Mitchell "Mic" Wilson.


Presentation of the Man of the Year Plaque to the Tau Chapter: (Left to right) Hayden McMurrey '12, Chad Baldwin '13, Tau Chapter Grand Master Brad Eral '12, WGP Derek Marchman, Wes Draper '12, Jake Askew '13, and Miller Gill '13.

Presentation of the Silver Bowl: (Left to right) Kappa Sigma WGP Derek Marchman, WGM Hugh Robert, Honoree Penny Burck, WGMC Toby Taylor, and Executive Director Mic Wilson.

Guests enjoy cocktails in the Bullock Museum lobby.

Former UT System Regent Bobby Stillwell '56 and Man of the Year Dan Burck '51.
Bill Zwiener '73, Jeanie Zwiener, Reggie Tuck '69, and Rhonda Tuck.

(Left to right) Dick Kilday '54, Bill Norman '58, Clifton Morris '53, Mac Thompson '54, Harry Terry '56, Robert Thorton '54, Vance Minter '54, and Ford Smith '58.

A gathering of 325 Kappa Sigma brothers and supporters enjoy a barbecue buffet before the awards presentation. 
Kappa Sigma Executive Director Mic Wilson shares the history of the Man of the Year award with guests.

Executive Director Mic Wilson congratulates Dan Burck '51.

View the complete Man of the Year Photo Gallery 
and purchase the ones you'd like by clicking here.

Please feel free to forward this email to KΣ friends. This list is protected and names are not sold or shared.

Quick Links:

Please share the latest news in your own life for the "Alumni News" segment.  We welcome news and photos of your recent accomplishments, honors, recognitions and family news.  Please send news and photos to:

 Written & Designed by