contact us \ subscribe to enews \ share this site


John Martin ’79 Recognized Among Top U.S. Financial Advisors

The Financial Times has named John Martin to its elite group of Top 400 Financial Advisors for 2020, chosen among advisors from the largest brokerage firms in the nation.

A global leader in business news and information, the Financial Times (FT), selects its annual list from advisors with over ten years' experience and $300 million in assets under management. The FT then weighs in factors such as AUM (assets under management) growth rates, compliance records, industry certifications, and online accessibility to calculate a numeric score for each advisor.

“Some people live vicariously through their children,” John said. “I live vicariously through the successes of my clients.”

After studying economics at The University of Texas, John launched his career as a financial advisor in 1984. He began with Dean Witter, moved to Rauscher Pierce, then to A.G. Edwards, which later became Wells Fargo Advisors, and now serves as managing director of investments for Raymond James.

In 2006, he expanded his practice to include his hometown of Victoria, Texas, where his father, Robert “Bob” Martin, would later join his practice. “Dad and I worked together until his retirement in 2013,” John said. “Working alongside my father was the most rewarding time of my career.”

John served as a Tau Trustee and alumnus advisor during the late 80s and early 90s, a time he described for the Chapter as “recovering from a pretty low spot and beginning to flourish.” In 1992, the Chapter presented him with the Frank C. Erwin Award in recognition of his exceptional support and leadership. He was chosen the same year as Outstanding Alumnus Advisor, a national award presented by the Kappa Sigma Fraternity.

“To this day, the national award from Kappa Sigma is my most gratifying accomplishment,” John said. “Like being named a top advisor by the FT, it was an acknowledgment of a team effort with a group of very loyal people.”

Reflecting on his years as a Tau Chapter active, he recalls, “We were a close group who knew we could count on each other. That has certainly played out in my career.” In fact, his first client came to him by way of introduction from a Kappa Sig brother. That client is still with him today.

What advice would he offer today’s Tau actives? “Follow your passion without exception. Understand that winners never quit and quitters never win," he said. "Never compromise your good name. Treat others as you would want to be treated. Be ethical, honest, grateful, and generous (qualities that give you a strong sense of self-worth). And, know that happiness and optimism are personal choices,” he added. “If you’re happy and optimistic, others will be drawn to you.”

Optimism is a trait John is known for among his Tau brothers. “Marty, as he is known to his friends,” said Rick Warren ’78, “is always there to make you smile.”

Pledge brother Mike Sharpe '79 noted “Marty is a study in contrast. He’s an experienced, sophisticated, and astute businessman, and he’s also a genuinely funny and entertaining guy whose company we all seek. He always makes us laugh and feel good about ourselves.”

John is also known for his generosity. His chosen charities include the Alzheimer’s Association, Partnership for Children (Austin), The Victoria Bach Festival, The American Book Review, David’s Legacy Foundation (a resource to fight cyberbullying), The University of Houston-Victoria, The Austin Parks Foundation, and several other worthy causes. He has also given substantial donations to the Tau Chapter capital campaigns to build the Lodge and Warren Residence Hall.

As a financial advisor in these turbulent economic times, John relies on his many years of experience tracking the stock market with assiduous attention to detail and his ability to see “the big picture” for long-term performance. His calm demeanor helps him keep concerned clients focused on their long-term plans. “I sometimes need to remind them that life is a marathon,” he said. “The objective isn’t necessarily to win, but to finish.”



Frank C. Erwin Award Recipients

2019 Jim Pritchett '71
2018 Rob Lippincott ’67
2017 John Hempfling ’90
2016 Michael Sharpe ’79
2015 John Hempfling ’90
2014 Tito Beveridge ’81
2013 Rob Lippincott ’67
2012 Reggie Tuck ’69
2011 Jim Pritchett ’71
2010 Rick Warren ’78
2007 Hagen McMahon ‘66
2006 Hagen McMahon ’66
2005 Hagen McMahon ’66
2003 Wade Kilpatrick ’69
2002 Tim Herman ’63
2001 Joe Bailey, Sr. ’73
1995 Joe Bob Shirley ‘84
1994 Rick Warren ’78
1993 A. Scot Chase ‘80
1992 John Martin ‘79
1991 Keith Harper ’80

Philip Moore Award Recipients

2019 George Sarvadi ’16 & Grayson Coker ’16 
2018 Robert Brown ’15
2017 John Urmin ’14
2016 Ethan Beasley ’13
2015 Hayden McMurrey ’12
2014 Matt Stubbs ’11
2013 Hayden Witte ’10
2012 Preston Key ’09
2011 Jonathan Evans ’08
2000 Jeff Horton ‘00
1996 Mike O’Brien ’95
1995 Grady Akins ’95
1994 Edgar Cardenas ’94
1993 John Wallace ’92
1992 Harold Schwartz ’90
1991 Chris Chiles ‘90
1990 Bob Parks ‘87
1989 James McAnelly ‘87
1988 Wyeth Wiedeman ‘86
1987 John Sarvadi ‘85
1986 James Mallia ‘85
1985 Robert Davis ‘82
1984 Patrick McCarthy ‘82
1983 William Stubbs ‘81
1982 Bill Brock ‘80
1981 John Kincade ‘79
1980 Bobby Greer ‘79
1979 Martin Payne ‘78
1978 Ben McCarthy ‘77
1977 Bryan Walters ‘75

Gabe Higgins Award Recipients

2019 Garrison Taska ’18
2018 Ben Broughton ’16
2017 Jacob Roschmann ’15
2016 Ben Sarvadi ’14
2015 Chad Baldwin ’13 & Josh Notari ’13
2014 Will Parsley ’12
2013 Matt Stubbs ’11
2012 Thomas Dowlearn ’10
2011 Kevin Redman ’09
2005 Tom Richardson
2004 Nick Liesse ’03
2003 Russell Zwiener ’02
2002 Weston O’Black ’01
2001 Jesse B. Dyer ’00
2000 Grant L. Amburn ’99
1998 Trip Norkus ’96
1997 Thomas Herter ’96
1996 Andrew Shagory ’96
1995 John Faulkner ’94

Walt Schoenvogel Award Recipients

2019 Brandon Chi ’16
2018 Jake Kinnear ’17
2017 Brandon Chi ’16 & William Wilson ’16

Richard Miller Scholarship Award

2019 Jake Kinnear ’17 & Marco Dizon ’17
2018 Ben Broughton ’16 & Nicky Cumberland ’16
2017 Connor Rennick ’15 & Ben Sarvadi ’14

Michael O’Connor Award Recipients

2020 Grayson Coker ‘16
2019 Jacob Roschmann ‘15
2014 Thomas Dowlearn ’10
2013 Bryce Healey ’09
2012 Ernest Hotze ‘08
2005 Nick Liesse ‘03
2004 Jack Doherty ‘03
2003 Mike Roth ‘03
2002 Chase Rice (Michael Corbin Rice ’02)
2001 Tygue Rudolph
2000 Doug Goff ‘99
1992 John McFarland ‘89
1991 John McFarland ’89